Lavender Ginger Detox Bath

DSC_4985

I love a good detox bath.  On days when the kids are all at their various schools and I allow myself some downtime, my first order of business is a nice detox bath.  I try to do this once a week, but no more than three times a week.  I use a few ingredients that are known for their ability to pull out toxins, heat the body, and enable me to relax.
I also incorporate dry brushing into the routine to help stimulate the lymphatic system.  Dry brushing is so beneficial and I try to do it as often as I remember.  I use this dry brush and adore it.

I also make an Epsom salt blend to make it easier and allow the essential oils to disburse evenly in the water.  I prefer lavender essential oil to promote relaxation since I struggle with this so often.

Epsom Salt Blend:
1 cup of Epsom salts
A pinch of lavender flowers
5 drops of lavender essential oil (I buy mine from Young Living and will include instructions on how to buy them if you want to love your oils as much as I do)
Combine and store in a glass jar.  You can make as much of this as you want just so you have it on hand.

I also add pure ginger tea bags to the bath to help heat the body, which also assists in flushing toxins.  I love these, but you can also use fresh ginger if you have some on hand.

DSC_4994text

Here is my detox bath routine:

1.  Fill up the bathtub as HOT as you can stand it.  You want to sweat.  While the bathtub is filling, I do the dry brush thing.

2.  Add baking soda, your Epsom salt blend, and the ginger tea bag or fresh ginger to the bath and swirl to mix it all in there.

3.  Get into the bath.  Make sure you have a big bottle of water and drink that while you are bathing and after to flush toxins.  Sit there for 20 minutes.   I have a playlist on my phone that acts as my timer.

4.  Get out and dry off.  Some people get dizzy when they get out, so just be careful and move slowly.

5.  I cozy up in my robe afterwards and then lay in my bed under the blankets for another 20 minutes.  I also make sure to drink a ton of water while I am doing this.

6.  Try not to eat a ton prior to or after the bath.

Boom.  Detox bath done and your body is happier for it!

How to purchase Young Living Oils:

1. Click over to the sign-up page: https://www.youngliving.com/signup/?site=US&sponsorid=1842761&enrollerid=1842761

2. Select “Sign Up As: Young Living Wholesale Member” (this secures you the 24% off discount on all future orders)

3. The “Enroller ID” and “Sponsor ID” boxes should already be filled in for you. If they aren’t, fill in 1842761 in both spots.

4. Fill out your name, billing address, shipping address, and contact info. (The reason you are asked for your SSN is for tax purposes; if you make over $600/year selling Young Living products, you will receive a 1099 form in the mail, as is required by law. Young Living never shares this info with anyone, and you’re not obligated to sell anything if you do not want to. I promise I wouldn’t lead you astray here!)

5. Create your password and pin which you will use to log in to your account and order your oils.

6. Select your enrollment order. This is where you can specify which starter kit you would like. I recommend the Premium Kit with the Aroma Diffuser.

7. It will ask if you want to sign up for the Essential Rewards program. I recommend saying no to this for now.

8. Agree to Terms & Conditions

9. CONFIRM YOUR ORDER. Some folks miss this step and end up not fully checking out. To confirm, the tool will log you in and it will show you your order again and it will make you enter in your payment information again.

10. Wait for the mailman to arrive! This step is will be agonizing.

Leave a comment