Sweet Dreams

Ahhh sleep. When you have three kids like we do, sleep is a cherished situation. I love sleep. I missed it so very much. 6 years of being awake with little ones at various points in the middle of the night really messed up my natural sleep rhythms and I had had enough. After a bunch of research, I found these wonderful essential oils that finally worked for our family! I have had a lot of questions on how to use the oils for sleep from exhausted parents, so instead of inundating everyone with a bunch of information on Facebook, I just decided to blog it so that it is all in one place for anyone who wants to find it!

DSC_2802 copy

Ideally (because we are not always on top of everything 100% of the time), this is how we use the oils for sleep. Sometimes they don’t get baths, sometimes I forget to spray the linens, but I always try to use the cream or roller bottles on ALL of us. I also have my husband apply Valor to his big toe and the back of his neck, because, snoring. And I apply Valor to my jawline, because I am a clencher.

Step #1 – Add lavender to bathwater. I usually add around 5 drops for my kids (ages 6, 4, and 2). If I feel fancy, I will throw some Espom salts in there.

Step #2 – While the kids are getting dressed, I spray down everyone’s sheets and pillows with my Sweet Dreams spray.

Step #3 – Diffuse lavender and cedarwood. Additional oils that are amazing and can be added to the diffuser are roman chamomile and peace and calming. I love this combination though and am sticking with it because it works!

Step #4 – Apply either sleep cream or a sleepy time roller to their feet, depending on where we are and which is closer to me.

Step #5 – Watch them drop like flies and have a peaceful night of sleep.

So, here are the recipes for all of these wonderful miracles…

Sweet Dreams Spray:
4 oz spray bottle (from here)
Water
2 T of Witch Hazel (like this)
4 Drops of Lavender essential oil
3 drops of Cedarwood essential oil
3 drop of Peace and Calming essential oil

Directions:
Add witch hazel and essential oils and top off with water. Shake and spray onto linens. Inhale the lovely fragrance.  Sleep.

DSC_2795 copy

Sleepy Cream:
Glass container
1/3 cup of coconut oil (like this one: http://amzn.to/1wZszBE)
12 drops of Lavender essential oil
12 drops of Cedrarwood essential oil
12 drops of Peace and Calming essential oil
12 drops of Valor essential oil

Directions:
Whip coconut oil until fluffy (maybe 5 minutes, but whatever works for your timing).
Add oils and whip some more.
Store in glass container.
Apply to bottoms of feet of all.
Watch the children fall asleep and stay asleep. Get into bed and sleep. Wake up shocked when you sleep all night without interruption.

DSC_2784 copy

Sleepy Time Roll-on
Roll-on bottle (like these:  http://amzn.to/1AhFdHW)
Liquid carrier oil (can be V-6, FCO, Almond Oil, Jojoba Oil, but I found liquid coconut oil and am thrilled with life at this discovery). I love this one: http://amzn.to/1ECL5BU
15 drops of Cedarwood
10 drops of Lavender
10 drops of Peace and Calming
10 drops of Valor

Directions:
Add oils to bottle and top off with carrier oil of choice.
Apply to bottoms of feet of all. My daughter puts in on her feet and the feet of her baby dolls and then passes out. It is adorable.

DSC_2801 copy

So, to get started on your oily journey, here are some step-by-step instructions! Also, if you already have a premium starter kit and want to add some different oils to your collection, I cannot stress how amazing Cedarwood is. I would say that is a great oil to order after the starter kit along with rosemary and orange and grapefruit and peace and calming. I can go on and on…anyway, instructions, here we go:

1. Click over to the sign-up page: https://www.youngliving.com/signup/?site=US&sponsorid=1842761&enrollerid=1842761

2. Select “Sign Up As: Young Living Wholesale Member” (this secures you the 24% off discount on all future orders)

3. The “Enroller ID” and “Sponsor ID” boxes should already be filled in for you. If they aren’t, fill in 1842761 in both spots.

4. Fill out your name, billing address, shipping address, and contact info. (The reason you are asked for your SSN is for tax purposes; if you make over $600/year selling Young Living products, you will receive a 1099 form in the mail, as is required by law. Young Living never shares this info with anyone, and you’re not obligated to sell anything if you do not want to. I promise I wouldn’t lead you astray here!)

5. Create your password and pin which you will use to log in to your account and order your oils.

6. Select your enrollment order. This is where you can specify which starter kit you would like. I recommend the Premium Kit with the Aroma Diffuser.

7. It will ask if you want to sign up for the Essential Rewards program. I recommend saying no to this for now.

8. Agree to Terms & Conditions

9. CONFIRM YOUR ORDER. Some folks miss this step and end up not fully checking out. To confirm, the tool will log you in and it will show you your order again and it will make you enter in your payment information again.

10. Wait for the mailman to arrive! This step is will be agonizing.

Oh, and

11. Please friend me on Facebook so that I can add you to some fun oily Facebook groups! : )

One thought on “Sweet Dreams

Leave a comment